Primal Recharge

During spring break I switched out my closet.  I put away all the heavy winter clothes and smiled when I saw all my bright colored spring and summer clothes.  Then the first hot day came and tried to wear some of those clothes.  It wasn’t happening.  Everything was tight or wouldn’t button or I could see rolls.  So, I promptly headed to the nearest department store and bought bigger clothes.  It really stunk but I wanted to feel good in my clothes and new clothes always accomplishes that goal.

It took me a bit longer to decide that I really had to make a change, not just buy new clothes.  I walked a couple of times during spring break but that quickly feel off.  I knew I needed to change what I was putting into my body.

I checked out all the paleo books again and reread them and got recharged.  I cleaned out the cabinets of off limit foods and headed to the grocery store for organic and grass fed meats.

It’s only been a couple of days but I already feel a difference.  I’ve stopped burping non stop.  I feel full after eating my meals and if I don’t I know I can eat more.  I don’t feel stuck in this vicious cycle of restricting and counting calories and feeling deprived.

I had terrible sweet cravings the first night.  I caved and went into the box of off limit foods (really should toss that box) and eat a couple of bowls of Honey Nut Cheerios.  Since, that box is now gone I won’t buy more.  I figured that it would be better that I had something sweet on hand then to eat something off limits.  I picked up a pint of chocolate almond ice cream and chocolate coconut ice cream.  They were delicious though I preferred the consistency of the coconut ice cream.

I had so much energy last night.  It was 11:30 pm and I was barely tired and ready for bed.  That usually never happens.  I am excited for this new journey.  My son is on it with me.  Trying some dietary changes for him to help improve his behavior and asthma symptoms.

I plan to head out to Trader Joes or Whole Foods for some more meat this week.  It is hard when I see the prices but then I think about the health of my son and of myself and I know it is worth it.

What do you do to save money when eating organic?

2 thoughts on “Primal Recharge

  1. I purchase larger cuts of meat (roasts) or whole birds. A whole turkey after cooking makes up not only a large amount of bone broth, but the left over meat is usually enough for 4-5 dinners for our family of 3. Whole chickens also make a decent amount of bone broth and a whole chicken can provide 2 meals for the 3 of us with some nice bits for the cat.

Leave a Reply

